Welcome to our governors section.

Below and in the sections attached, you will find our local school governing body information



Governors Mission Statement:

“Blacko Primary School aims to be a village school of excellence. We strive to provide a stimulating and caring environment in which all children can achieve their full potential, both academically and personally, through the highest standards of teaching and learning. We also aim to foster good relationships between children, staff, parents, carers and the wider community”.

Your governing body is a team of volunteers who work with the head teacher and management team to raise school standards. 




Blacko’s governors provide strategic leadership and accountability in school. Governors appoint the headteacher and deputy headteacher. Governors hold the main responsibility for finance in schools, and we work with Mrs Richards to make the tough decisions about balancing resources in relation to pupil need across the school.

Take a look at our role description, What do governors do?   


Decisions are the joint responsibility of the governing body. Our role is a strategic one. Our key functions are to:

 set the aims and objectives for the school

  • set the policies for achieving those aims and objectives
  • set the targets for achieving those aims and objectives
  • monitor and evaluate the progress Blacko Primary school is making towards achievement of its aims and objectives
  • be a source of challenge and support to the head teacher (a critical friend)


The head teacher is responsible for the internal organisation, management and control of the school and the implementation of the strategic framework established by the governing body.

Each Governor attends termly ‘Full Governing Body’ meetings and has individual roles and responsibilities within the team. Members also attend termly committee meetings:

  • Resources,
  • Curriculum,
  • Staff Performance Management,


Some governors are also nominated to lead in a particular area;

Maths Governor - Mr J. Osborne

English Governor - Ms. E. Gauntlett

Pastoral and Safeguarding Governor - Mrs H. Wilson


These roles involve working with school leads in observing lessons, discussing teaching within the school, and keeping colleagues informed of change and performance.




Our Governing Body constitution:

1 Headteacher

2 Staff

1 Parent

7 Co-opted



Chair of Governors

Mr. T. Root

4 Beverley Road, Blacko, Nelson, Lancs, BB9 6LX 


Vice Chair of Governors

Mr. S. Frost


Head Teacher

Mrs. K. Richards


Staff Representative:

Mr. B. Brown

Miss L. Thompson


Parent Representatives:

Mrs. E. Holden

1 x Vacancy


Co-opted Representatives:

Mr. T. Root (Chair)

Mr. S. Frost (Vice Chair)

Mrs. H. F. Wilson (SEND & CP Governor)

Mr. S. Steele

Mr. J. Osborn

Mrs. H. Swinson 

Miss. E. Gauntlett (Training Link & Literacy Governor)



Governors No Longer Serving:

Date Stepped Down from Role Name Governor Position
31st December 2019 Mr H. Devonport Co-opted Governor
31st December 2019 Miss H. Lord Staff Governor
31st December 2019 Mrs K. Davis Staff Governor

30th May 2020

Mrs. S. Heys Parent Governor

16th July 2021

Mrs. H. Scholey Co-opted Representative